Views

On life and its vagaries

Archive for May 20th, 2012

Simulacrum

with 6 comments

Simulacrum

Late at night- how late I know not-

The moon cheated me with its sweetness.

The gods had left the shores long ago, leaving

The sea and a vapid night all alone with me

The sun, snuggling deep into the sands

Had by now turned damp in its dreamy stupor

My bare feet and hands had sensed

It’s losing warmth in the touch of my watch

As a slow mist was rising from the sea

The moon played truant with me unawares

The sea, subsiding into a threatening hum

Had the waves recede with soft frothy lashes

Something was imminent, what I knew not.

And just then the sea swelled her bosom

To meet the sky, I was curiously enthralled-

Moved beyond words, by the strange spectacle…..

The lighting was supernal, and I was drawn-

Into a shade that the moon could only rule

It was zapping me hard and strangely now

Has turned predatory, its babies hungrier

Though what was given up was the residue

Of the sun, I felt the pull, so very strong

The stars were lapping up the ocean by a

Clapper made of the fading light of the void

The waters now lift clean off, deserting earth

And migrating into the regions beyond

The world seems suddenly open, and exposes its

Looted soul, the like you have never seen….!

I leave the shore bemused, the moon seems

Gaining strength, the naughty simulacrum