Views

On life and its vagaries

Archive for October 15th, 2009

Insect seen in path

with 24 comments

The other day as I was walking along I saw an insect on the concrete path. It was beautiful to look at with myriad spots and antennas. I was amused and stayed awhile to watch it. Also wondered who placed it on the path. It was not one which we normally see.  Then its masters came along, it was a group of children. They told me:

Don’t go near, it will sting. Though we have plucked its stings out, they  may have grown back.

Okay I said, I am happy where I am.

It’s a trained insect you know, do you want to see the tricks it plays?

Yeah let’s see them.

One of them made a series of passes over it and it turned over to its back and started performing.

You see we are sending it energy. We can even make it do these tricks from a distance. The children said.

Now, how do you do that?

We send it thoughts you know, images about what to do. You can call it dreams.

I laughed. Children are intrepid.  One of them even taught a technique of meditation to me one day.

You just have to sit like this, close your eyes and a light will come along.

He said.

Why do you do it? I now asked amused. Don’t you think it has a life of its own?

It has no soul; insects are just like a lot of robots. We can make them do what we like. Only man has a soul.

But brother, it’s a living thing, it should have a soul.

They were adamant that it hasn’t. Well I left it there, children will always be children.

These few lines are about that incident.


Insect seen in path


Tiny insect seen in path

Did I step on you?

Did I disturb your sweet repose?

Did I rattle your peace?

Why else  should you rear your head up

And look me through those blood red eyes?


Tiny insect seen in path

I love your colorful spots and your concealed stings

And the tiny sacs of poison you may have

I know you were not in meditation

That little head is only programmed to react

And not to think…….


Tiny insect seen in path

I think I have to laugh now

For I see the insect-charmers coming along

After their long stint at the ecstasy lounge

And I see you swaying frantically

To the tunes played by them

Oh, you the poor little thing

You are really domesticated and not wild

Your stings have all been plucked out.


Tiny insect seen in path

Why do I feel sorry for you?

Yes, I could have saved you

I could have picked you up

And protected you till your stings grow again

So that you can hunt in the wild and survive

Yet I chose not to do it.


Tiny insect seen in path

I still prefer to be the observer

The one who enjoys the play of life

And not one who alters paths

I am sorry that your sight is delusional

And do not reach beyond your confinement

I can only wish you freedom

But how can that ever happen?

You sadly seem to have become

A receptacle for your charmers dreams………..

Written by Sam

October 15, 2009 at 7:41 am