Views

On life and its vagaries

The Art of Living

with 5 comments

The Art of Living

 

 

I had slept

Without a mosquito net

On my first day in the new city

 

Did I say slept?

That isn’t even an exaggeration

That’s an utter lie

 

The room, the cot, the night, the sounds

The earth itself

May have slept

 

Me and the mosquitoes didn’t

We fought

And I was not deadly bruised

I was totally mauled

 

The next morning saw me

At the nearest mall

Searching for a mosquito net

 

Then on every night

I would spread the mosquito net

Over my bed stead

 

And by that time

All the mosquito’s in the room

Would be inside it

 

Happily  I would close the net

Insert all the corners under the bed

And sleep on the floor

 

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL…wildly clever. I’ll have to tell my brother in Africa, he’s been going about things in the wrong manner…lol

    ~Lady Day

    June 5, 2012 at 6:19 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Bride of the Book God and commented:
    I liked this very much, but especially so with added Van Gogh

    brideofthebookgod

    June 5, 2012 at 6:30 pm

  3. This is wonderful!

    Susan L Daniels

    June 5, 2012 at 7:43 pm

  4. YES~! Laughing and Delighting in the imagery~

    satprem33

    June 5, 2012 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

