Views

On life and its vagaries

Chances are……….

with 4 comments

Chances are……….

A boat is seen, slow

Crossing a river

Chances are that I am in it and seeing the

Lukewarm water and the shadow of the boatman parting underneath

And the shore line receding and gaining

The sun coming after us in undiminished speed

Only hidden partially by the water

That I am listening to the ancient song the boatman sings

Watching the drips of sweat making furrows

On his bare back, a back parched and grainy with the sun

And his long bamboo pole, while hastily being

Immersed in water making a faint noise on the sand of the river bed

And its hard grating slide through the sides of the boat

The whole of the body tensing, bend as a spring

Thin elbows straining, wiry muscles taut

And relaxing as the pole rises, water running over them

It could be I witnessing…….moving with the waters

Traversing with the needles of the sun over my body…….

 

It could be me on a fading noon on the river, seeing

The ripple of water spreading as the boat labors across the current

Fishes in dark outlines swimming with us

Bubbles bursting on the water face, birds swooping through-

The heart of small flitting bodies, debris attaching and detaching,

It could be me dragging a leg through the tepid water,

Feeling the seemingly porous and blackened wood of the old canoe

Deeply frazzled by time, like that of a buried carcass, dull black in the sun

Chances are it could be me or someone in me or someone I knew

And long since forgotten yet seeing through me, revisiting places

And events he felt and held fast to, chances are

It’s him sitting here, running fingers over stubborn keys

Making them play to his tune

That we are one and the same or fragmentary portions

Of the same self or I am an aggregate of these selves

Living through them, realizing one or a few as chance would have

 

Chances are, it’s magic and I am a magician

Par excellence

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chances are…this was so glorious. Every line was perfection. Painted so brilliantly I’m in awe right now. I really love this. By far my favourite so far, mind you I haven’t panned back through your writing yet. But this was breath taking. Thank you for writing it.

    ~Lady Day

    May 28, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  2. Hi Sam – this is one of my favorites of yours so far – the description of the boat through the water is palpably vivid – the details are wonderful, and the general philosophical premise also. K.

    ManicDdaily

    May 28, 2012 at 7:50 pm

  3. the chance of putting magic in hands as capable as yours…I like those chances
    sweet trip!!

    QueridaJ

    May 30, 2012 at 5:00 pm


Leave a Reply

