Views

On life and its vagaries

All about an Old Chair

with 4 comments

All about an Old Chair

Now what’s that you say?

No, no I am not angry, what’s there to be angry about?

So this is an old chair, I too got eyes don’t I?

I too get around in the world

And I know what’s old and what’s young

You needn’t bother telling me

 

I know, great grandpa used to lie on this

Now don’t be ridiculous I said lie, not Lie lie

(People do lie some times, that’s no heart break)

Then grand pa got this

Father used to be ecstatic sitting on it

He had tears whenever he sat on it.

I know its value, I am not iconoclastic

 

That’s unbelievable

Did I bring you up to say such things?

A ‘thing’ can’t be sexist, my god the way you guys think!

It’s a frame of mind; do you think I am one, now?

How can a chair be sexist, that’s ludicrous?

 

“It pinches you when you sit on it”?

And that’s enough o make you say a chair is sexist?

Oh, you now think that I am old fashioned and-

Don’t think like you.  I used to be baby-fashioned like you

Once upon a blushing time, so don’t kid me

 

Why don’t I sit on it? I do sit on it sometimes

I am not lying; you may not have witnessed it

That doesn’t make it an untruth. Tell me,

Is there a sound when a tree falls in forest and

Nobody is around

There is guys, there abso sure definite certain lutely is.

 

It has bugs that bite in it, you say? This isn’t a perfect world guys

The living subsists by feeding on the living

Now there’s an enlightening truth for you!

 

The springs creak? What are the springs supposed to do?

Should they play current musical hits?

 

It’s torn and the stuffing shows through?

Things get old, that do not make them worthless

It at least have some stuffing in it unlike the ones you use.

 

I know, it can’t be sold, there’s no market for it

( The market is the King nowadays is it not?)

That was my one consolation, till you got so fanatic to burn it.

What, is this some kind of a reverse Inquisition,

Are we burning heretical chairs now?

 

Nothing doing, I am keeping the chair, I may sit on it

Or spit on it, but I sure do like it.  

It’s your parent and provider speaking,…now get going guys!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh I’m laughing wildly right now…this is a great piece of writing. lol it truly is~R

    ~Lady Day

    May 25, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    • You couldn’t have laughed as much as I did when writing it 🙂

      Sam

      May 25, 2012 at 6:36 pm

      • it may have been close…you have a gift, truly you do…hope to read more soon Sam~R

        ~Lady Day

        May 25, 2012 at 6:38 pm

      • Thanks

        Sam

        May 25, 2012 at 7:54 pm


Leave a Reply

