Views

On life and its vagaries

A Lane Forgotten

with 6 comments

A Lane Forgotten

 

Back, in the old city lane I used to traverse ……..

 

Nothing’s altered; it smells the same

(Vacant)

And handles the breeze the same way

(Haltingly)

 

It’s strange how things look

The same even after eons have passed!

 

Yet I feel changes within,

My feet hardly move in haste,

The steps are not as sure as before,

The eyes go ignoring events……

 

Its age, its oblivion, I tell myself….

 

I pass the house I once stayed in, it is alive now,

It’s no more a bachelors den……

 

The gate with its old wooden frame

Is still painted green,

And the same locking chain is in place

 

I remember of the time when I stood there,

Just outside the gate one evening,

Thinking of the coming dusk and the useless night-

 

And of my beloved, passing through just then, with a

Friend in tow………

 

She barely glances at me, changes

Into a lovely color, never saw her more beautiful…….

 

Both our faces blossom, there is silence

And out of nowhere

Something like lightening starts to fizzle in the air….

 

I turn back; this is a lane I forsook for good

The one I can never recover …..

( This is an old post(2009?) re-posted here,  I have altered the title though.  I would like to post one  along with  a new one every day, if I can.  Thank you)

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. very much enjoy this

    deanjbaker

    May 13, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    • I am sorry dean, this showed up as spam somehow.
      I don’t know why!
      Anyway, nice of you to comment on the poem
      I like your poetry blog. Thank you

      Sam

      May 14, 2012 at 4:54 am

  2. Lovely writing!

    ~R.L.King

    May 13, 2012 at 8:28 pm

  3. What wonderful art you use and a wonderful poem. K.

    ManicDdaily

    May 13, 2012 at 11:21 pm


Leave a Reply

