Views

On life and its vagaries

What’s left……….

with 2 comments


(Death is sad in others, and we don’t get to so experience ours!

Here is a visual of a young couple clasping each other

And trying to span the unbridgeable-

With only the poor driver of a sad train in some bother…)


What’s left……….


Parallels do meet at death.

(It’s not paradoxical, it’s the truth!)


Shut up in this jittery metal cage,

I have but two greasy windows to the world.


Cruelly slanting towards the rails-

They bequeath an angular vision on me.


Behind, I hear the mighty thump of life.

It’s mechanical, monotonous and toxic.

Everything I touch emits warmth

And I yearn for the cold.


And so,


Watching the mirage of * Achilles running after the hare-

I fix my eyes on the rails………………. till I spot them……..


Were they two…………? They looked one.

Where the woman…….? Where the man……….?

They looked one!


They had frozen time to a point

And fused space into a moment


I scream, trapped within my prison.

But no din would separate them……..

And no sin would stall this collision.


The train dies………….. They live…….

And yet they seem strangely left behind!

============================================================================

*Zeno’s paradox


Image

Horse and Train (1954) – Alex Coleville

Said to be inspired by these lines of Roy Campbell

“Against a regiment I oppose a brain

And a dark horse against an armored train.”

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. intriguing write…

    brian

    September 6, 2010 at 5:44 pm

  2. lovely poem,
    the image gives a dynamic feeling.

    Jingle

    October 4, 2010 at 2:40 am


Leave a Reply

