Views

On life and its vagaries

A lane irrecoverable

with 6 comments


Back, in the old city lane I used to traverse ……..


Nothing’s altered; it smells the same

(Vacant)

And handles the breeze the same way

(Haltingly)


It’s strange how things look

The same even after eons have passed!


Yet I feel changes within,

The feet hardly move in haste,

The steps not as sure as before

The eyes ignoring events……


Its age, its oblivion, I tell myself….


I pass the house I stayed in, it is alive now

It’s no more a bachelors den……

The gate with its old wooden frame

Is still painted green….

And the same locking chain is in place…..


I remember the time when I stood there

Just outside the gate one evening

Thinking of the coming dusk and the useless night

And my beloved passing through just then with a

Friend in tow………

She barely glances at me, changes

Into a lovely color, never saw her more beautiful…….


Both the faces blossom, there is silence

And out of nowhere

Something like lightening starts to fizzle in the air….


I turn back; this is a lane I forsook for good

The one I can never recover …..

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. whew. love this one. some times you can not take it back or go back to the way it was no matter how similar it looks. realy good.

    brian miller

    March 4, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    • Thanks, sorry for being late with the reply, been caught up in the mundane…..

      I agree, all such returns are vicarious experiences at best.

      Yet there is this too, we are nothing but a bundle of reminiscences….. we exist in them, with them, for them…….and we are them.

      Sam

      March 7, 2010 at 7:12 am

  2. it brought me an air of sadness, reminding of paths not taken, of opportunities missed. there will always be those, the trick is to take them in one’s stride. beaautiful 🙂

    • Good of you to say so. Yes, we can’t police our yesterdays, we can’t begin anew from the past, yet we can accept them and be kind to ourselves……

      Thank you dear 🙂

      Sam

      March 7, 2010 at 7:17 am

  3. sadness for sure, but something comforting resonates with me… maybe just the knowledge that i’m not the only one who has looked for a time on past lanes not taken. turns out it is hard to step in the same stream twice, and not just for me. thanks for this thoughtful post.

    okbobok

    March 4, 2010 at 10:48 pm

  4. Thank you. The past might seem a lost domain, yet it performs the magic of holding us together, its like a gentle light coming over our shoulders and illuminating our present and deciding our future….

    Yes, its cluttered with things unfulfilled, events not noticed, paths shunned, turns ignored, yet life ever spirals upwards and doesn’t take a downward turn, whatever we do.

    Of this I am sure, I am glad that you are too…..

    We can’t step into the same stream twice, the stream being TIME, yet in an individual sense, we all head the streams we are in, we could try to decide its course….. no harm in trying you know!

    Sam

    March 7, 2010 at 7:48 am


Leave a Reply

