Views

On life and its vagaries

The ‘fur’ious debate

with 4 comments

Oh, it’s about the human pate and a few things that grow on or under it……………

It’s currently the hottest topic in this small land of ours. A high drama is being enacted by cine actors and the intellectuals in the wilderness of the mass media about it.

The intellectuals are accusing the actors of being bald and ugly and of using wigs and plaster of Paris (Plaster of Paris!) to cover them up.

The actors assiduously maintain that the intellectuals have nothing really under their pate.

Well both could be true. I am not taking sides. But what has the hair on the pate to do with life or acting for that matter? There are some beautiful bald actors out there in the world. I don’t see their acting suffering because of the lack of a few hairs.

You see, the pate can hardly be called something newly discovered; it has been there all through the human evolution,   and let us also admit that normally it is seen covered up in hair.

But hair being what it is, it could fall off, and this of course could not be called a sin.  At least, as far as I know, it has not been mentioned as one of the cardinal sins.  This could be because of its relative insignificance in the scheme of things.  To stress the point,

We hear people say:

‘You can’t touch a hair of mine’ (The particular hair may not be very important here)

‘He did not move a ‘single’ hair’ (it’s to be supposed that the guy has not undergone chemo therapy just before the mention is made)

‘There is hair on this plate’ (This drives home the utter futility of life and meaningless of it all into our souls)

Anyway, the ‘fur’ certainly does not stand up in a good light in these instances.

Well sure, there are occasions when it stands up too, but I am not confident whether it has any importance even in those instances.  Here is one such:

‘The hairs stood up on his nape.’

Honestly this is one of the trickiest places for the hair to grow; whoever planted it there has done a tremendous disservice to the human race. I don’t like that guy at all……

I have this phenomenon all the time when I face the supernatural, which is almost every night in a strange place.

Of course   I don’t see anything around for sure and I have even been in haunted houses. (In fact stayed for years in one of them, the owner was ready to cry with gratitude whenever he met me, preferably outside the premises………)

But the location and the night and loneliness (And I am the guy who is in love with things lonely!), make the hair grow like trees in my nape.

There was this incident every night when the ghost used to come down the wooden stairs with a heavy tread. It was an old house and the next human habitat was some hundred meters away.

The fact is, I don’t really go out and look for trouble when the supernatural is on the move somewhere around me. So I stayed put in my room and preferred to ignore it as long as possible and let the hair stand up or lie down on my nape as it pleased. Anyway it turned out to be a big rat slowly jumping down the stairs after one or two years of my stay in the house.

When we come a little further down (only a little, mind you) from the exalted position of the pate and investigate further we hear:

‘Goose bumps ran up along my spine’.

This cannot be achieved without the item called hair in those prospective bumps. It’s similar to the ‘Napier’ feeling, but is not so localized; in fact it could spread to  most places over the body.

I have it when I experience something beautiful or horrible. The bizarre and sublime seems to have the same effect on my hairs.

Well the hair certainly seems to accentuate our sensual experiences. But does it enhance our aesthetical experiences? I really don’t think so.

I still have a head full of hair and it’s not bad at my time of life. Other than the feeling of peace when I run my hand through it from time to time, it is yet to cause any revolutionary spiritual or aesthetical experience in me.

So ye no-good actors and intellectual idiots get back to your work and start performing.

Hair is not that important-fair is always important.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lol. hair today, gone tomorrow.

    brian miller

    March 3, 2010 at 2:22 am

    • lol, the poor actors seems to be the most affected lot!

      Sam

      March 4, 2010 at 6:22 pm

  2. justmeshakira

    March 3, 2010 at 8:32 am

  3. Thank you Dear Shakira,

    You are kind.

    My best to you

    Sam

    Sam

    March 4, 2010 at 6:34 pm


Leave a Reply

