Views

On life and its vagaries

The fragrance of a remembered smile

with 8 comments

When from the silence of my mind

I try to call up thoughts appealing

Something shatters within

And I see myself reflected in fragments…..


I see friends, foes, blood bonds

My lost loves

Slight acquaintances

All looking at me with mute visages

I see events that burned bruises into my heart

Un-healable, balm-less

Yet ever so fresh……..

And there I find my heights and lows

My glooms and joys

All past, yet un-dimmed by the passage of time

And I am merged in a sadness

Those remembrances bring…….


Yet through it all

I see that evanescent smile

Light, but flooding my being with liquid light

Where did I see it, in dreams or in some-

Fancy, or somewhere in those hazy haunts of youth?

I can’t recall

Yet the fragrance once again make me whole.

Written by Sam

February 14, 2010 at 8:14 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow. that is so beautiful and somehow very optimistic in its sadness. wouldn’t it be wonderful to see the world in fragrances first and colours second?

    glitteringsootonhereyelashes

    February 14, 2010 at 9:40 am

    • Life has a fragrance, and we would feel it
      The moment we open our inner eyes to it, it
      seems all so contradictory isn’t it? Sensing
      fragrance with eyes? Well there is something
      inside us to which all our senses report…….
      Or so I believe.

      Thank you.

      Sam

      February 14, 2010 at 11:37 am

  2. that smell that takes us back and propels us forward…wonderful verse…

    brian miller

    February 14, 2010 at 11:08 am

  3. Thank you. Fragrance could even be called a smell isn’t it? I like that realism. I often wonder whether we would ever be able to transcend the limits of our senses and express the feeling of life in words that are ineffectual……

    Sam

    February 14, 2010 at 11:47 am

  4. Sam:

    I Don’t deserve your kindness,
    U R Cool and always on the lookout to help,
    I feel ashamed about my act.
    Bless your heart,
    I will remember this beautiful poem!
    Sadness and happiness are best friends, thus your art is the art of beauty!

    Have A Sweet Evening!
    😉

    jingle

    February 15, 2010 at 1:56 am

  5. Jingle,

    Thank you for the kind words
    and glad you are back.

    You know I try to take it from
    moment to moment. Nothing great
    in that. yet nothing wrong with
    that too 🙂
    If we want to run, lets run, if we
    want to stay and fight lets do so
    Its what we decide. No hard and
    fast rules! We rule our lives.
    Have a great day too 😉

    Sam

    February 15, 2010 at 7:58 pm

  6. Sam:

    R U going to accept the Perfect Poet Award?
    Please let me know your nomination for one poet from previous participant…
    thank U.

    nice to see u in my blog!
    😉

    Jingle

    February 18, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  7. I can’t be the perfect poet! But I shall gladly nominate one of the previous participant for the award.
    Than you, you are good as always!

    Sam

    February 18, 2010 at 4:24 pm


Leave a Reply

