Views

On life and its vagaries

How we learn in life!

with 2 comments

Some years back, one of my relatives asked me to help him survive an operation at a hospital. He had hemorrhoids.

Well he was operated on and we were back in the room. Though he was in some pain he was very brave about it. And so everything was peaceful till I got to know our neighbors at the hospital. They had a little girl with them. She was about three or four and her mother was in for her second delivery.

The girl was cute and I had given her a chocolate. What made me do it is a still a great mystery to me. May be I had one with me at that time or did I buy one to give her? I can’t recall and sadly I never remembered the dictum that one is not to play with little kids and dogs.

Well I learned it the hard way.

The girl took a terrible liking to me and would rush in on me and start digging her teeth into me. I never felt the kind of pain before or after like that. And I have taken a few knocks in my life. If I can liken it to anything, it was to a scorpion sting I received once. Even that was bearable.

Anyway, no part of my body was free from her attack.  If I had the ill luck to be found supine on the cot I used to lay on, my entire body would be under severe assault. This would mostly happen unawares.  When I say entire body I mean the entire body, no parts excepted. I had swellings all over the body and it’s no exaggeration that I had to take medical help to heal some of the severe wounds on sensitive parts that I got from the escapades. The doctors and the nurses would never believe that it was all done by a little girl. I had to grit my teeth when they sniggered on …….

Well that’s how we learn in life! But do we really learn I wonder?

Written by Sam

January 11, 2010 at 3:53 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I thought you said she liked you. O.o

    uninvoked

    January 11, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  2. No idea why kids bite to show liking, I am as mystified……. 🙂

    Sam

    January 11, 2010 at 7:11 pm


Leave a Reply

