Views

On life and its vagaries

Nonsense Poetry

with 2 comments

These are my own poor attempts at nonsense poetry. I don’t know if it gets a bit Thackerayesque in tone later, if so they are slightly removed from the true genre of nonsense poetry where such considerations do not play a hand.  Anyway there is enough recompense for me in publishing them for I am not very particular about what I write about. It’s just fun writing something now and then whether it’s good, bad or indifferent. So with the following nonsense poetic preface as a tribute to Lewis Carroll et al, I go into them:


“Swiffling was the time and gimble the wind

A burbling and beamish strain coggles the mind

Everything was so glimmish and hoyly  frodderous

That I stood groggling, forgetful to my very squidjum

I could see the wunk adjusting its frippers

In the moggling light of the higrical evening

I had gopped very hard , gyre I reached ashore

In my self-owned wimbril, frumious as it was

Dards could still be seen brilling the way I came

Gloshing over the hloosh in the fading ebbentide

They had tried to sproggle my very hooken bone

And had put my crute in a terrible weepadge”


People as pure as snow


There were some people as pure as snow

That those approaching them sure partook of the glow

Yet those who weren’t anywhere near as pure

Had to wear darn ski-gear to cope with the lure

When asked why they were so very crystal pure

They could not explain it at all in words so clear

For purity has something so very funnily bare

That to find a pure one with a brain is rare


Lady of High morals


There was this lady of high morals

And the madam was as prickly as yon sea corals

She taught us all about itchy sorrels

And how to overcome our bad morals

But one fine day she began making doodles

For she found her man (to be sure!) twaddle’s

Written by Sam

December 22, 2009 at 3:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like “People as pure as snow.”

    theneonwallflower

    July 20, 2010 at 8:50 am

  2. Thank you. (Sorry for being late with the reply)

    Sam

    August 17, 2010 at 7:57 pm


Leave a Reply

