Views

On life and its vagaries

When I shut the doors on my mind

with 6 comments


When I shut the doors on my mind

All tremors cease, and peace ensues

The past disintegrates into nothing

And the future troubles me no more

Then I am established in my true self

In the present, where shadows dance-

To the tune of my unfaltering will

Events reach me with their fangs-

All removed, like fading apparitions

They beg my mercy to come alive

Which I can’t grant then, for they-

Need the past to nourish their ‘selves’


Everything then starts to become a charade

The sounds lose their din, touch lose

Its fever, sight its sting, scents their irk

Taste becomes a faint remembrance

And everything absolves into a calm

That is pleasant and near to my soul

There are no memories of the slights

I received, none about my reactions

I feel at ease and at the center of my-

Being, blissful and veritably in control

Of everything which comes to me


I know this can’t last, for life is the play-

Of mind, till it gets fully annihilated

But while it lasts I feel at peace with

Everything within me, and I like that

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cool poetry. i really can visualize what you’re saying very clearly

    kseverny

    December 10, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    • Thanks, for the kind words, and for visiting

      Sam

      December 10, 2009 at 6:38 pm

  2. Beautiful!…especially liked the line “for they-
    Need the past to nourish their ‘selves’”….so true!

    http://opinionsofanobodyblog.wordpress.com

    Ms Nobody

    December 10, 2009 at 4:47 pm

  3. Thank you. It was nice of you to visit my blog

    Sam

    December 10, 2009 at 6:41 pm

  4. Yes, I liked that one too, I find I prefer your upbeat words rather than the negative stuff, but you create a satisfying balance with the mix!

    all the best to you!
    Teresa

    yogastories

    December 16, 2009 at 8:39 pm

  5. Thank you Teresa, and yes, its better to be upbeat than otherwise. I have to try harder to keep it so 🙂

    Sam

    December 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm


Leave a Reply

