Views

On life and its vagaries

Filling up

with 2 comments


The old pool is almost filled with earth now

This is where I learned swimming……

Who taught me, I fail to recall

But it stood in good stead when I went drowning

 


This pool has memories for me

It is history, it is my past, and it is my strivings

The muddy waters were filled with our tears

And body fluids, fears and shames

 


Yet when I said “let us fill it up”

And no one demurred

Siblings did not tell me “Brother, isn’t there

A thing called the environment?”

Parents did not murmur

“The pool gave enough to build our house,

That’s how it went down and the house came up”

 


And the pool did not say “You autocrat

How dare you, I did help you all….”

It received the earth as it did us

It is filled up now, almost

Written by Sam

November 24, 2009 at 7:42 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. its fantastic. you reminded me of our old pond attached to my home.. well, it was left to get filled up by itself.

    trisha

    November 27, 2009 at 3:51 pm

  2. Well yes, everything left to itself fills up naturally. The status quo can’t be maintained indefinitely it seems. The only thing which doesn’t change is the change itself as one thinker said 😉

    Sam

    December 7, 2009 at 5:21 am


Leave a Reply

