Views

On life and its vagaries

Temptations

with 14 comments

I  would have liked to preface this with something  on its evolution. But I am too pressed for time now to do so. I hope  I would be able to do it when I update this.


Temptations


Some fall for lucre

And some for cheap thrills

Some goes for the inane

And some for a promise of love


What should one do

When one sees this farce

Where the asinine act as wise

And the nice are considered base?


Yet it’s moving to note

That some do not have the eyes

To see what they really are

And blames others for their faults


They at least are

Temporarily saved

From the poor disgrace of

Knowing themselves then


Is it better to allow them

To bask in that illusive glory

Till such time comes

To remove those veils?


May be they are right

In some peculiar way

Where self gratification

Assumes all round importance


I am sometimes non-plussed

Seeing this musical chair

Where no one can win

But the people who organize


Yet it is amusing too

To listen to the growls

And dismayed yowls

And wanton cries


As the drama unfolds

More characters may come

Flaunting their roles

Lighting their poor flares


Okay let us watch the play

Till we get bored

There seems to be no charge

To this amusing fare

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the plot continues
    our dramatic personas
    transparent but stayed

    I like this. You take such long journies with Your poetry. It’s really nice to walk along with You.

    Thank You and Namaste. 🙂

    blissbait

    October 22, 2009 at 10:22 pm

  2. You are truly Bliss 🙂

    Yes, the personae dramatis seem to be influencing me a little…..well it happens……they are all lovely actors and they live their parts.

    Your kind words have made me whole. You are an intuitive and sublime soul. I am glad you came….. Thank you

    Sam

    October 23, 2009 at 1:19 pm

  3. dearest sam,

    its really beautiful and true. i can understand (or assume) the true meaning of this poem, there is nothing to analyse in that, it has only to be felt…

    the moment we realize that life is but a musical chair, we join the viewers and enjoy the show..

    trisha

    October 25, 2009 at 7:22 am

  4. Dearest Trisha,

    I work with moods as I stated in the side panel. This was a mood I liked exploring. 🙂

    Yes it is a genuine rendering of feelings as you have correctly noted. I let it go like that. There is some thing in raw feelings which attracts us….

    Sam

    October 25, 2009 at 11:30 am

  5. dearest sam,
    mood is an important motivation behind any creation..

    agreed, a person who doesnot gets attracted by feelings is not really alive.

    trisha

    October 25, 2009 at 4:37 pm

  6. Dearest Trisha, as I view it, emotions are what makes our life.

    A person who is not capable of emotional heights would never be capable of intellectual heights too.

    Sam

    October 25, 2009 at 6:05 pm

  7. dearest sam,
    agreed to the core.
    a man with passion lives, others survive. 🙂

    trisha

    October 27, 2009 at 3:23 pm

  8. Lovely 🙂

    Sam

    October 27, 2009 at 7:13 pm

  9. thats not my quote, someone wrote it, most probly picasso

    trisha

    October 28, 2009 at 4:44 pm

  10. Well then it is not lovely. It’s only lovely when you say it 🙂

    Sam

    October 28, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  11. thats partiality… not fair!!!!

    trisha

    October 29, 2009 at 2:41 pm

  12. I don’t want to be fair. I am allways truthful.

    Sam

    October 29, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  13. he he 🙂

    trisha

    November 3, 2009 at 3:46 pm

  14. Yes I am, I am the most honest guy around 😉

    Don’t think that when I say truth its about factual things like ” This is a table” or “that is a house” etc.

    What is true to me is what I feel at any point of time in my mind. In my mind Picasso could say the most beautiful of things and come no where near when you say the same things 🙂

    Sam

    November 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm


Leave a Reply

