Views

On life and its vagaries

Oh IT is something very big

with 18 comments


When I was twenty or so I was walking along a lane once just after a heavy fall of rain. It was well into summer and the rains were unexpected. There were puddles all over the lane and those with costly leather footwear were having a hell of a time getting through the lane. I was one of them. One section of the lane was extremely difficult, the puddle of water extending to both the sides for some length. One side of the lane was covered by bamboo fences and there was nothing people could do about that side. The other side had a thin brick wall, just a single layer of un-plastered bricks going up to a height of five feet or so above the ground. At the very bottom of the wall there was a thin ledge just above the water line where you could put your feet on and by holding on to the top of the wall you could jump over that area in comparative safety.


There were several people trying this idea out, and being smaller and less heavy than me was managing to get to the other side. I thought about it and being a little doubtful of ever getting across like that, thought of testing the strength of the brick wall first. I placed my hand on it and put some pressure on it. The bricks came loose. Someone laughed and there were a few comments from behind.  I looked around and as luck would have it almost everyone had seen that and was hard at work telling others who did not know. I put the bricks back in a very serious mien. Though I won’t in anyway compare to the “Undertaker” of the WWF fame, I can put on a pretty decent show of fierceness when needed. Anyway none said a word about it after that.


I and my beautiful sneakers had to wade through the puddle to the other side …. …….


Well I think that certain walls are weak from the time it is built and no amount of eulogizing them are going to make them strong. Structural weaknesses cannot be remedied. These few lines are about a wall and a fall ………………


Oh IT is something very big


It’s wonderful

How a wall falls down

Just like that

This happened to them once

And they thought the world was going to end.


Yet some say

The wall was old and decrepit

And was already collapsing……


But they listened not

And    went on sitting on the wall

Oblivious to everything


Yet they were just too meaty

And the wall buckled

And went to pieces……


May be it was due to something heavy

Pulling from the inside

But who realizes themselves

And they had to fall


They still believe

That they didn’t really fall

And only the wall fell off…….


Well everyone to their belief’s ……..


Yet the scoffers are still

Laughing their heads of…………..

No one knows why.

(A pox on the scoffers, they would not allow people to live)



18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dearest sam,

    your combination of prose and verse is pure magic.. as always enjoyed the writings and relished the poem.

    🙂

    trisha

    October 19, 2009 at 2:25 pm

  2. Thank you dearest Trisha, Your kind words are always encouraging 🙂

    Sometimes an idea becomes a bit long to put it to verse alone, so I try to break in to it by adopting this method.

    Sam

    October 19, 2009 at 5:14 pm

  3. dearest sam,

    and it makes it somehow perfect… it gives it the charm of a poem and strength of a story..

    its a wonderful style. i love it.

    trisha

    October 20, 2009 at 4:14 pm

  4. Well thank you dearest Trisha, though they don’t have the charm of your poems 🙂

    Sam

    October 20, 2009 at 5:37 pm

  5. dearest sam,

    the way of our writing are different, and whether you admit or not, gender reflects in works (though i dont know why people often think that i am man grrrrrrrr really.. grrrrrr again.), and its but natural that you will like the feminine things and i will like the masculine things in literature because we want to know about the thinking of the other gender..

    trisha

    October 21, 2009 at 3:12 pm

  6. May be you are right. I try to make my lines as smooth as I could. But what with pixies in my computer and my lack of time and perhaps my carelessness they don’t appear as smooth as I wish.

    There is gender in thoughts and deeds and words no doubt.

    Sam

    October 21, 2009 at 6:41 pm

  7. dearest sam,
    i told you.. dint i? those pixies can drive anyone crazy?

    they are really, really naughty 🙂

    trisha

    October 22, 2009 at 3:00 pm

  8. These pixies are the result of my poor typing technique and nothing else. When in a hurry , I press the wrong keys or do not erase something I typed before replacing it with the new thought or new sentence.

    I put the blame on poor pixies. They are my darlings 🙂

    Sam

    October 22, 2009 at 4:30 pm

  9. i knew that you have a team of pixies 🙂

    trisha

    October 25, 2009 at 7:24 am

  10. A big team, really, I call them my faults 🙂

    Sam

    October 25, 2009 at 11:52 am

  11. i call them pixies 🙂 so that i can forgive my own faults.. 🙂

    trisha

    October 25, 2009 at 4:41 pm

  12. I would like to do that too. But my faults never forgive me 🙂

    Sam

    October 25, 2009 at 6:12 pm

  13. i dont like to torment myself for the mischiefs of tiny pixies 🙂 🙂

    trisha

    October 27, 2009 at 3:25 pm

  14. The point was, my faults torment me and not I myself 🙂

    Sam

    October 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

  15. even then, you let them torment you 😦

    trisha

    October 28, 2009 at 4:46 pm

  16. Okay can I hand them over to you dearest Trisha?have all of them by all means, I don’t want them in the least 🙂

    Sam

    October 28, 2009 at 5:32 pm

  17. okay, i will have huge gang of pixies then.. may be i will train half of them to bother the neighbours 🙂

    trisha

    October 29, 2009 at 2:43 pm

  18. Thats good idea, here they are ( i don’t know the mantra to do that. Anyway I will try to send it to you with the modern mantra)

    “MS word, notepad, wordpad,
    word press, comment press, all press
    all pixies dismiss,
    I them send
    Dearest Trisha accept
    This transaction complete.

    😉

    Sam

    October 29, 2009 at 6:39 pm


Leave a Reply

