Views

On life and its vagaries

Hypo-trouble-cemia

with 28 comments

The last week was a bit hectic, had to spend it in and out of hospitals. Oh, don’t worry, it was  not on my account at all, though at the end I thought I would also become laid up, what with lack of sleep, trying to sleep on thin mattresses in chilly hospital floors and having to eat  terrible food from wherever one can get it……..

You did not get the point about sleeping on chilly hospital floors, did you, well you know, we here are totally crazy, we won’t just leave our ailing to the care of the hospital staff, we normally migrate with our whole family to the hospital till the patients finally get booted out from  them.

Trust hospital staff with the care of our dear and near? Faugh….. Tell us about something else for a change….

The craziest thing is, most hospitals expect this of us too. The lesser the number of people around the patients room and the fewer the visitors, the lesser importance the poor patients have.

It all came about like this:

My father in law had an attack of hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) in his sleep and went limp for a period.

Hopefully his foes had nothing to do with it, sure he should have many. He is a kind soul and a very helpful soul, goes out of the way to help people all the time.

Think that you want to contact him on his cell phone. The phone rings and it rings for a long time. You think that he has thrown it into the garbage can. Then finally he picks it up quite out of breath:

“Helohhh”. The voice trails off out of exhaustion.

We are not pleased. We are the son in law. We are the bloody absolute dictator as far as his daughter in nature is concerned. All protocols state that the son in law is above god all mighty.   We give vent to our displeasure.

“Hello. This is the guy who was fortunate to marry your daughter”

That is intended as a dig. But it would not register in my father in law. He is an absolutely simple soul, does not have the habit of thought or reflection.  He doesn’t need that, being a very sought after soul in our neighborhood for every sort of events. He would win an election all by himself.

“Who? Oh yes, Sam, I am before the ICU”

That would be stated with a sense of great achievement.

“Oh, I C?” We murmur

We are disappointed. We knew that he would be in some tricky places like that. That figures, as the Yankee gentlemen say. That figures. We are glum, but no son in law is ever afraid of low things like the ICU’s.  So we again intone:

“Oh, I C?”

His voice would suddenly bubble with enthusiasm.

“Our *** had a minor stroke, thought that he was gone”

We think, who the hell is this ***? What in the hell is he doing with having a stroke when we need our own very dear father I law for something in our own very dear life and because of our own very dear lack of time.  We are peevish and we are not very nice because of that.

“Who had this stroke of luck?”

“Luck?” He shouts surprised.

My father in law is the most extrovert of persons and is blessed with the spirit of action, never goes beyond the very superficial elements in talk. He doesn’t have the time to think. He is off to somewhere and doing something all the time.

Then he shout’s into the phone.

“Sam, it is luck you know, he fainted in the street, no one was near, then our xxx saw him and called me. We brought him here as soon as we could. He is still in the ICU”

We again grumble

“Oh I C”

This is the man in essence. But he loves his daughter to distraction and would brave the Godzilla if needed. There would be some whimper too; after all it’s the Godzilla. He might ask:

You mean, it’s necessary?

If we say it is, he would blindly rush off into the fray.  Well you know there is no power in the whole world to contain an irate father of a daughter in danger. Knowing this the Godzilla would take promptly to its heels, being more sensible than we humans.

Well anyway, on that day me and the sweet wife was dropping off like two pieces of led into a slumber as never before and was shocked  back into our senses by the greatest din we ever heard. I sat up shivering. Is it already 2012, we mutely asked each other.

Then I heard my brother in law hollering. I never knew he had so much voice in him.

“Sam, Mrs. Sam“ (he is not on  good terms with my sweetun at present, doesn’t dare to call her by name)

“Father is ill, mother told to call you”

I was a bit confused. Whose father, whose mother? You know the sleep doesn’t have fathers and mothers.

Then light broke through to my consciousness. Eureka, it’s his father and mother he is talking about.  As needed I jumped out of the bed (we need to overdo these things at such crunch situations) and rushed off with him to their house.

Well there was my father in-law lying like a log of wood with two eyes attached. They were open but no amount of waving my hands in front of them produced a glimmer of recog on his face. When a father in law can’t recognize his son in law the matter is mostly beyond repair.

I thought “sonny boy, everything is lost”.

We packed him into a van like a sack of something and rushed off to the nearest hospice. And the duty doc, kicked out of sleep, took me aside and cautioned:

It could be a blood clot in the head, we don’t know how long he has been in the state, need to scan him, take him to the medical college. Chances of recovery are slim.

I further thought “Sonny boy, where is the next coffin shop”

There we were then at the medical college waiting for the final verdict. The little waif of a doctor girl in the casualty takes one look at him, calls for the gluco meter and says to me.

Sugar is only twenty.

She attaches a glucose drip to his hand and he jumps up asking “Where is my daughter, is everything alright” Well he meant my sweetun, he has no other daughters.

I leave them at the hospital and return with the good tidings to my darling.  She is not in a good way at all. If the father loves her to distraction, even distraction itself could not love him as much as my dearest. She is down with an attack of asthma caused by anxiety and had to be rushed off to the hospital then and there.

There begins my vigil at both the beds.  As I said I thought I would be laid up as well………..


( Take it all with a pinch of salt. I am the best son in law ever lived as my father in law would certify. Its all in fun)


Written by Sam

October 12, 2009 at 6:03 pm

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I enjoyed reading that episode, wondering how much is real and how much fantasy. Good, well written. You made me smile, and I do like your father in law!

    Tessa

    tessa moss

    October 12, 2009 at 10:48 pm

  2. Dear Tessa,

    The illnesses, his genuine helpfulness etc are real.
    All the comical stuff is purely fiction. At the time I too was worried. It’s in retrospect that it all looks comical.

    Sam

    October 13, 2009 at 3:47 pm

  3. you know how to write a light hearted story/article/poem…

    hope your pa in law and sweetun is all right at present.

    trisha

    October 13, 2009 at 5:09 pm

  4. Yeah they are 🙂 And thank you dear Trisha for the compliment.

    Sam

    October 13, 2009 at 6:17 pm

  5. the pleasure is mine. 🙂

    trisha

    October 14, 2009 at 1:37 pm

  6. You pulled a trick on me you know, updated your old story blog without telling me. I have taken it pretty seriously 🙂

    Sam

    October 14, 2009 at 2:08 pm

  7. dearest sam,
    sorry, i was thinking every day about telling you and forgetting.. now that blog will go really slow, as i promised you earlier 🙂

    you will like this story, its cute.

    trisha

    October 15, 2009 at 2:35 pm

  8. Yes, I read it and I like the look of it. Its cute as you say.

    Sam

    October 15, 2009 at 4:13 pm

  9. i have updated the secondsails today.. double updated actually heh heh

    trisha

    October 17, 2009 at 7:53 pm

  10. Well okay, keep it coming, you mischievous soul 🙂

    Sam

    October 18, 2009 at 1:59 pm

  11. 🙂 you have more surprises waiting for you today.. you will get exhausted..

    trisha

    October 19, 2009 at 2:33 pm

  12. Oh I saw the two new ones. I should have been exhausted yesterday, did a bit of travel and was tired. Not today though.

    You are something with a keyboard dearest Trisha. I have to admit that 🙂

    Sam

    October 19, 2009 at 5:42 pm

  13. dearest sam,
    i have taken training on typewriting for years, and loved it 🙂 my speed on keyboard is most probably somewhere near 50 WPM and more. in typewriter it was steadily above 35 WPM, often touched 40.

    trisha

    October 20, 2009 at 4:21 pm

  14. Man, and I am the slowest guy on the keyboard 🙂 Went to learn typewriting once, but did not follow it up after two or three months 🙂

    Sam

    October 20, 2009 at 5:50 pm

  15. dearest sam,
    well it was the other way round with me, my family had to be a very strong and consistent under current to prevent me from becoming expert in these skills..

    i loved typewriting, computers, shorthand.. and have heard repeated compliments from my teachers.. still kudos to my sister and hats off to rest of them (excl my younger brother) 🙂

    trisha

    October 21, 2009 at 3:18 pm

  16. Such skills are essential for writing in English. I am angry now when I have to peer at the key board and chose letters one by one.

    Should have learned to type well. Thought it never suited my big manly fingers 🙂 I used to ram at the keys hard, I still do when I use the key board. The teacher at the institute used to tell me that , at that rate she would have purchase several typewriters before I finish my course. 🙂

    Sam

    October 21, 2009 at 7:00 pm

  17. dearest sam,
    yes, men use a lot of power on keyboard and typewriter, that is why when both genders share the same keyboard/typewriter women have to pound on the keys..

    🙂 but you know my brother is faster on keyboard than me?

    trisha

    October 22, 2009 at 3:04 pm

  18. Well the typist at my office ( surplus now, with the computers and all ) can type fast. It is a learned skill. Men, unlike me who dislike typing, may also excel in it 🙂

    Sam

    October 22, 2009 at 4:48 pm

  19. dearest sam,
    i never ignore a skill, i hate cooking and all the girlie things but i master them to the limit which i can, and do them as perfectly i can 🙂

    you know the time spent on a skill is never wasted.. thats my mantra of life.

    trisha

    October 25, 2009 at 7:29 am

  20. Well, dearest Trisha, if I ever come to Kolkotta I am going to test your skills at cooking 🙂

    Anyway I agree, skills could get you out of many a situation.

    Sam

    October 25, 2009 at 1:05 pm

  21. well i will be happy to give you a gala bengali lunch, you and your sweetun are invited .. you can come down for a lunch/dinner/breakfast/snacks… whenever you want.

    trisha

    October 25, 2009 at 4:47 pm

  22. That’s lovely dearest Trisha,thats a grand invitation and thanks for inviting us. We both appreciate it very much.

    We might take you at your words you know 🙂 🙂

    But sadly I can’t even visit my mom every month now …………

    Sam

    October 25, 2009 at 7:30 pm

  23. thats a lame excuse…

    🙂

    trisha

    October 27, 2009 at 3:29 pm

  24. Its a true statement. I won’t be able to stir from this place for some time 🙂

    Sam

    October 27, 2009 at 7:29 pm

  25. 😦 thats too bad for me.. i want some new posts to read..

    trisha

    October 28, 2009 at 4:43 pm

  26. True. I keep forgetting that.

    Sam

    October 28, 2009 at 6:30 pm

  27. 🙂 read the one you wrote today, its really interesting.. now some more please.. dont make me whine for them 😦

    trisha

    October 29, 2009 at 2:48 pm

  28. I was about to do that, but the moment I opened the great treasury of my inspirations, they all flew away. I am expecting them to return any time 😉

    Sam

    October 29, 2009 at 7:19 pm


Leave a Reply

