Views

On life and its vagaries

All that is wild in our natures

with 16 comments

bobwhite_quail

There is a bird we call ‘Kaada’  in this land. I don’t know how the name came about. In fact I don’t know much about birds in general. I have never been a Saalim Ali. Orni (whatever)……ology is not one of my favorite oologies.

I may never become one, Saalim Ali I mean, I eat birds, I am not ashamed to admit it, I still do, I may continue to do so till the world ends or I end. Well some illumined souls say that we don’t have to wait much for that. The world is supposed to end in 2012.

I suppose that is that then………..

Anyway I eat birds and chicken is my favorite.

But, why eat them? Well why not? There is something to support me in Sanskrit in this as well  “jeevo jeevasya jeevanam”  The living is sustained by the living ( This is what I like about our ancient texts. They have answers for everything!)

You see, you eat rice. You think it is not alive? Try putting some grains under a wet sack (not the terminator type, they are the castrated lot) for a few days, you would see them coming alive. We had some ‘agri’ at one time. That’s how I know it. So things we normally eat are alive in some way or else they can’t support life.

Now about Kaada, it is a small bird and people hunt it for meat, and some rear them for their eggs.  I don’t know how both tastes like, never had the pleasure of consuming them. But I have met them, a mighty lot of them in forests. Don’t take me wrong, I am neither a forest officer nor a poacher. But the life deposits certain thorny friends in your path.

I had some such ‘frenz’ies. Someone says the word ‘trekking’ and they start shivering, it’s not out of fright, my god, it’s out of spirituality. They are in love with nature. No, no don’t mistake me again; I love nature for what I am worth.  I have been near to nature all my life. Even today the home I grew up is in the midst of a regular forest.

But being sensible I don’t go around seeking nature in the wild. It took us thousands of years to fence ourselves safely out of nature. The real nature is a creature, its wild and unpredictable. It’s always dangerous. Yet friends are friends, their dumbdom is not of their own making, we chose them and if they are trouble, we wobble, hobble, and gabble with them.

They wanted me to go with them and being insensible around that period I agreed. So there I was in the forest looking at Kaada’s flying off in hundreds like a thundercloud from the ground. I would not describe the other adventures; I am planning to write a horror story in the future.

Anyway, what I found in them was a kind of uniform nature. They were all like twins if you get what I mean. I like things when they are bizarre. So I loved it. My friends didn’t, they were out for variety.  Well a shopping mall would have more variety than the forest grass lands. But as I said, they were real dumboo’s, my friends.

I told them that it is a deputation god devises in some creatures for some purpose.  Nature makes allowances but we fail to sanction them as such.

We should never do that, we need to place the uniformity, the allowances, the Kaada and the deputation in the proper perspective.

My friends were very pissed about it at that time. Well they still are.

Well why am I writing about this?  I can’t find it at this time. Perhaps some of you can.

It’s a thought you know!

Written by Sam

October 9, 2009 at 3:57 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lucky that you could see some animals, the only time i have visited a forest… i was deprived from seeing even a crow 😦

    trisha

    October 10, 2009 at 3:46 pm

  2. Okay I saw much more than Kaada, I saw wild deers, wild elephants with kids, monkeys wild as well, and large squirrels, but I had to trek for days on end in wild grassy lands under a scalding sun to do that.

    Honestly I am no wild nature person. I don’t like sleeping in forests and dreaming about wild beasts attacking me in the night and gasping over useless hills.
    Its a personal point of view anyway.

    Sam

    October 10, 2009 at 5:26 pm

  3. you are sooooooooooooooooooooo lucky

    trisha

    October 12, 2009 at 3:22 pm

  4. Yeah, I seem so 🙂

    Sam

    October 12, 2009 at 6:18 pm

  5. yes you are.

    trisha

    October 13, 2009 at 5:11 pm

  6. You are right again. How else could I get a wonderful friend like you 🙂

    Sam

    October 13, 2009 at 6:27 pm

  7. in this aspect we both are lucky.. i am luckier, because you are acting as a great inspiration in my story writing..

    trisha

    October 14, 2009 at 1:42 pm

  8. Well you know, thats what the friends are there for 🙂

    I write only for fun now ( no Nobel prize for me please), you also love writing. Thats enough for me.

    Lets have a blast 🙂

    Sam

    October 14, 2009 at 2:28 pm

  9. dearest sam,
    i too dont want a nobel prize or booker prize. i simply write for my friends.. 🙂

    trisha

    October 15, 2009 at 2:40 pm

  10. Well, I know, dearest Trisha, That is what writing is all about…. telling our friends about what we are… 🙂

    Sam

    October 15, 2009 at 4:57 pm

  11. and some times sharing our dreams and skills 🙂

    trisha

    October 17, 2009 at 7:56 pm

  12. Absolutely spot on 🙂

    Sam

    October 18, 2009 at 2:03 pm

  13. thats what likeminded friends get from each other. you must have noted soulbro in my blog, i send him some picture quotes and we both write poems on same pictures .. without consulting each other, just out of instinct and its a great joy to see how one person’s creation sparks a light in another person.

    trisha

    October 19, 2009 at 2:38 pm

  14. Thats wonderful dearest Trisha

    Yes, I have seen his poetic presence in your blog. I used to wonder how he manages to come up with instant poems like that and that too so consistently. So this is how it happens !I am glad for you and him.

    He uses the rhyme pretty well. You must be in very good vibes with each other to write about the same things like that.

    Sam

    October 19, 2009 at 6:39 pm

  15. dearest sam,
    no you got it a little incorrect.. he writes those poems after reading these poems, then and there.

    he is a soul deeply immersed in poetry. he is unique.

    i have seen it in him for months, he just reads poems and fills them up with his own poems.. makes them complete.

    the picture quotes thing was when we both blogged in intent.. i used to send him the pic quotes and he used to write poems based on them, sometimes.. 🙂

    trisha

    October 20, 2009 at 4:28 pm

  16. most of his poems come from his own soul.. there is an endless stock of the most beautiful poems there.

    trisha

    October 20, 2009 at 4:29 pm


Leave a Reply

