Views

On life and its vagaries

Luck

with 6 comments

There was this story in the local newspaper. A strange and writhing package was seen deposited in the letter box of a family. Afraid to open it themselves they called the mobile police squad in to check it. The package contained a little puppy with a note.

“I stole your puppy sometime back. From that moment on I had the worst time of my life. I used to be a hard working thief and was earning my living somehow. Now it has all been changed. I am sorry that I took your puppy away from you. I am returning it and am retiring from my field of work.” Yours truly – the thief

The story is amusing; the poor guy must have had it pretty bad to think of retiring from such a lucrative trade. Anyway that is not the point. The bloke seems to be superstitious.

To some extent we all are. Where from this strange habit stem? I wonder sometimes whether the law of causality has anything to do with it, in any peculiar way. I too have superstitions. Mine has to do with method. I do certain things in a certain order. Whenever that order is broken, I fear there will be trouble. And curiously it always does. It may be a result of my conviction that things would go wrong every time the established sequence is broken. All the same I still follow it.

It’s completely illogical I know, but is comforting all the same! Don’t say others do not have it, because that’s not true….

Written by Sam

September 26, 2009 at 6:20 am

Posted in Life

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. well, may be the puppy and the owners doted each other and the thief was cursed for stealing love by cupid 🙂

    trisha

    October 2, 2009 at 3:02 pm

  2. It reminds me of the saying that there are facts stranger than fiction 🙂

    Sam

    October 2, 2009 at 7:37 pm

  3. there are.. only you have to meet them 🙂

    trisha

    October 3, 2009 at 5:22 pm

  4. I thought of writing a story on it for a time. You know, thief gets attracted to the puppy , steals it, then can’t go out in the nights for his trade, the puppy howls if it is left alone, he has to feed it, pet it, do its toilet for it, keep it company, starts to love it terribly, even forgets that he is a thief, takes it to the doctors, vaccinates it, buys it cute dresses, takes it for walks, shows it off to all and sundry, fears being discovered with the stolen puppy, his day sleeps are disrupted, nights are passed tending the puppy, in short he goes through real hell and sorrily decides to return it it its owners etc etc….

    You love puppies, wants to try a hand at it? I mean writing a story on it? 🙂

    Sam

    October 3, 2009 at 8:57 pm

  5. 🙂 it is really cute… may be you should write it.. you wrote the story about nayna and little sun so beautifully… 🙂

    trisha

    October 5, 2009 at 4:32 pm

  6. Now that I have written a post on it , well I don’t know …. 🙂

    Sam

    October 5, 2009 at 6:51 pm


Leave a Reply

