Views

On life and its vagaries

The Mythical Love Land

with 18 comments

Late last night

Sad and restless

I betook myself  once again

Over a path

Long un-remembered.


Every nook every cranny

Every fall within the valley

were so very familiar………..

That I shuddered.


The pale  landscape lay

Strewn with my  memories

Very shadowy and wan

Very listless yet emotive.


At every turn of road

They rose to greet me

Silent, like specters from

A  disturbing nights dream.


These were the pangs

That I had left behind

These were the pains

That I forsook  long ago.


Perhaps they want me back

As  their’s again

To drag me again over

Those frightening log-fires.


No,   I had enough of those-

The petty cravings, the

Dismayed ramblings, the

Puerile day dreams,

No,  not anymore.


I am a hero who had fought

And won every battle

Within the sphere of mind-

I can’t fail  now.


I am no child who stand in wonder

Before every ray of sun

And yearns to catch

Its beauty, come what may.


I have left such thoughts  behind

Sure that what most of us-

Feel  is a thirst to posses

And not to love.


When I speak of love

Its not of a fanciful thing-

That some think of

(The ‘Godly’ or the ‘fleshy’  Kind)

That I intend.


To me love goes deeper than that,

I have been to realms yet unknown-

to those who don’t try enough

And have known Love for

What it is.


But it won’t do to talk of them

To these, the residue’s of my past

For they are as insensitive to them

As some opaque thing to light.


Yet I feel sad, even now to call-

These the ‘friends of yester years’

I have been chums with them

Even to think them nice.


Strange are the paths fancy takes

At a moments notice

If we remain not  alert to it.


Yet  as I came slowly awake-

from the trance,I had left-

That dreamy sadness behind.


It is as delusional  and ephemeral-

As  a vision , I always knew.

Only  children run after such

Illusive mirages  that is  seen within.

Written by Sam

September 18, 2009 at 9:24 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. simply fantastic.. and to think that its one of your very first poems.. makes it really fabulous.

    if we leave the demons hungry they will rise again and again.. 🙂

    trisha

    September 18, 2009 at 11:14 am

  2. The demon is the past, Dear Trisha. The past will only rise up if you will allow it to rise.

    In my case I only allow it to rise to inspire me to write something. At other times, its just a shadow, weak and laughable.

    samronsilva

    September 18, 2009 at 1:58 pm

  3. i am happy to know that.. sometimes we forget that past is gone.

    trisha

    September 18, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  4. The past is there all right. It is dormant. It would only die when we die. By the grace every great soul I believed in , I hope that it would not ever get out of hand in me as well as in others 🙂

    sam

    September 19, 2009 at 4:53 am

  5. to me my friend
    the moments gone are gone
    sometimes they leave smiles
    sometimes they leave scars
    sometimes they just go away
    sometimes they come back to haunt…
    but they are gone all the while
    gone forever and ever
    not even an emperor’s treasure
    can bring back a single gone moment

    trisha

    September 19, 2009 at 5:26 pm

  6. In a linear frame work of time , you are right of course. But yet memories do linger and come back with power often.

    Sam

    September 19, 2009 at 7:51 pm

  7. ask me.. there was a time when they used to haunt me.. now i have learnt to say goodbye to them the moment they show up 🙂 and they sulk a little but ultimately leave because i dont open the door.

    trisha

    September 20, 2009 at 2:31 pm

  8. Okay we can order them to go and the stronger the person is, the easier would be it to do.

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 3:53 pm

  9. yes.. they know when to obey and when to get wicked!!

    trisha

    September 20, 2009 at 5:10 pm

  10. Yeah that too 🙂

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 5:37 pm

  11. but we can tackle them after a while.. if not instantly, naughty things tire out easily..

    trisha

    September 22, 2009 at 11:36 am

  12. You will be my guru in that 🙂

    Sam

    September 22, 2009 at 1:43 pm

  13. ok. but you will have to extract the information from this guru..ask me questions and i will answer 🙂

    trisha

    September 22, 2009 at 3:38 pm

  14. I will dear Trisha, I will 🙂

    Sam

    September 22, 2009 at 8:44 pm

  15. I’m enjoying your poetry and look forward to reading more.

    ajfenner

    September 27, 2009 at 10:00 pm

  16. Thank you. You will be very welcome here 🙂

    Sam

    September 28, 2009 at 7:54 pm

  17. do let me know before you start learning from me. 🙂

    trisha

    October 3, 2009 at 5:32 pm

  18. I hope you would not charge me anything for it, would you? 🙂

    Sam

    October 3, 2009 at 9:19 pm


Leave a Reply

