Views

On life and its vagaries

Oh, to go up in life!

with 22 comments

The struggle to get to the top becomes all consuming some times, even obliterating the thought of self preservation.

There is this interesting character I knew, he has masters in a few disciplines in art, but has very few manners. He got employed by a drug de -addiction institution. The institution was globally funded and may have had some bucks to spare to pay him. He did not get along well with the Director and was devising schemes to blacken him in whatever method he could think of. He used to frequent our lodgings almost daily to describe his various exploits. We lent a polite ear to his vicious tirade on the poor senior out of boredom rather than any real interest.

The guy was interesting because of the total lack of feeling he had for the other man as a human being. His method was not derision but an all out attack on the other man’s moral behavior. We were not in a position to tell whether the facts were true or not. But none of us could believe in them nevertheless. Such was the things that he let out.

His institution was involved in a state wide de-addiction campaign at that time and we lost touch with him for some time. When we met him again, that too by an accident, he seemed rather dispirited.

We did not see him again for a long time then, though he should have been in the neighborhood at that time. Someone suggested to look- him up at his institution and one day we went.

The Director received us politely. He was a well mannered person, but the moment we uttered the name of our man he first grew black and then pale in face. He had trouble containing his emotions. He even spluttered when he spoke.

“You are friends of that poisonous bum?” He was shaking all over and had difficulty in expressing himself. It turned out that our guy was sacked and thrown out of the premises some days before and the poor man wouldn’t say what for. But we could guess.

When we told him that we were just acquaintances he earnestly advised us to cut off all contacts with him. He seemed in real earnest

“ I shouldn’t be saying this,” He said “ But that one is bad through and through” We had to believe him. He also prophesied that our man would come to an early grave.

Some of the staff hinted at what happened while we were on the way out. It seems that our man tried to take over the institution by some novel and heinous methods, discrediting  even the family of the poor director to destabilize him mentally!

Some do not stop at anything!

Written by Sam

September 14, 2009 at 11:09 am

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dear sam,
    from childhood i had a habit.. i never saw things through anyone else’s eyes..the only people who could influence me was my family, and they taught me the priceless lesson, one should always trust only oneself blindly.. everyone else should be first judged and then only trusted.
    i have seen such evil creatures one too many i feel absolute repulsion and pity for them.

    mydomainpvt

    September 15, 2009 at 6:08 am

  2. How well you made that point. I can’t even say no to my worst adversaries if they approach me sweetly and demands something seemingly innocent and above board from me. There would be trouble over it afterwards. I now gets out of such situations by asking for time to consider their demand.. Honestly I find even that hard. Too much nicety inculcated in the childhood!

    I would have loved to have your kind of judgement in life. God how hard human relationships are sometimes!.

    samronsilva

    September 15, 2009 at 8:33 am

  3. i too had this nature.. i just could not say no. well you know if the coaching begins at home then one learns quick. so even though i am an extremely sensitive person i do one of two things.. first is the thing you do, take some time and keep extending that time till that person gets bored.

    and the second is i just give it (thats the majority case) if i think that it wont be able to cause me any harm.

    i have a very strong belief, that if someone makes a fool of me then i dont become a fool, he/she becomes cheap ..

    mydomainpvt

    September 16, 2009 at 6:19 pm

  4. It is not merely of being fooled that I was thinking of. They could lead us into traps out of which we would only emerge hurt in some way. These people are out to hurt us with our permission. That is the sad part.

    samronsilva

    September 16, 2009 at 6:49 pm

  5. dear sam,
    yes.. i have been tricked into these traps too many times, that is why my present attitude is i only let people lead me to a place from where i can come out with least damage.. even then they can have their way, because innocent people cant wage a war with twisted people, so i simply keep away from them, and dont care if they call me names.

    mydomainpvt

    September 17, 2009 at 12:06 pm

  6. Dear Trisha,
    I am totally confused about what you are saying. How can we keep away from people who are interacting constantly with you? It might be possible in the net , you can put the shutters down and not let others to peek in. But in real life it is next to impossible. But I have decided to follow your advice from now on and see what will come of it.

    samronsilva

    September 17, 2009 at 2:52 pm

  7. how come all that writing came in cap locks? i never use cap locks when i am writing.. ugh!! it looks ugly..

    there is one way, keep occupied yourself with things.. in office we all have computers, same in home.. so use them as a escape route.

    if they are relatives then simply dont talk much with them, response with the cutest smile you can offer and judge the motive behind their words all the while and talk as per that..

    you know, the more we keep our mouth shut esp in social/career circle the better it is for us from every angle, we should always let others talk and try to understand what is that they want to say/mean.. and let me tell you one thing more, you will always be able to distinguish an innocent chatterbox from a sly extractor.. just study for a while 🙂 let your instincts do the judging.

    trisha

    September 18, 2009 at 11:45 am

  8. Dear Trisha,

    The thing about the capitals looks amusing. You do not even begin your sentences in capitals 🙂

    Not having to hide anything I usually let my browser remember my passwords, so if the system is on and I am absent for any time, any one can become admin in my blog 🙂 .

    It could be an amusing trick by anyone who saw it open Anyway I will try and correct it, my knowledge of such things are rather limited really. I could not even make my link show when I made comments for some time. Did not know how to configure it in wordpress. If I remember correctly I had to leave my URL in your site to let you come to it. I hear it is pretty bad to do that. I have no understanding of netiquette too. Made so many blunders upto now.

    Anyway I have decided to become more careful in future. I would change the password and the habit of making the browser remember the password.

    samronsilva

    September 18, 2009 at 3:29 pm

  9. thats not good habit.. any one can steal your blog. there are a few things one should remember:
    1. change password in regular interval
    2. never click “remember my password”
    3. delete the history before logging out.

    you know my brother is very naughty.. once he went to cybercafe and he saw that the person who used the machine before has left his yahoo messenger open, so he chatted with the person on the other side for a few minutes pretending as this guy and then told him to tell his friend to log out before leaving machine 🙂

    trisha

    September 19, 2009 at 5:44 pm

  10. Changing passwords regularly could be tough for me. I have a phenomenal forgetfulness. Did try to do it initially, but then I would not remember it and then would have to go to the account and remember the security questions. I would not remember them too.
    It was a regular jumble so I thought what the hell, lets have some peace of mind and did those careless things I said above 🙂

    Sam

    September 19, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  11. dear sam,
    save the password in your cellphone’s messages. that way you wont forget them, and after a while you wont have to check them.

    trisha

    September 20, 2009 at 2:56 pm

  12. Good Idea. Shall give it a try 🙂

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 5:11 pm

  13. as you check your blogs more than once a day, you will memorize the pwd in two days, if not your cellphone will be having the pwd

    trisha

    September 20, 2009 at 5:31 pm

  14. Right, its good idea, though I dislike cells in general ( highly pollutant) I have one anyway 🙂

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  15. i am addicted to cellphones.. i have two running and third one is currently being used by my brother.. 🙂

    trisha

    September 22, 2009 at 11:51 am

  16. It cooks up the brain cells, microwaves , you know 🙂

    Sam

    September 22, 2009 at 9:01 pm

  17. i know.. that is why i have started to become cautious about it.

    trisha

    October 3, 2009 at 5:39 pm

  18. check this blog and you will agree cellphones have great advantages- http://justmycell.blogspot.com/

    this is how i spent my puja days when my monitor crashed for ten days 🙂 🙂

    trisha

    October 3, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  19. what did you do during pujas?

    trisha

    October 3, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  20. Nothing really. I only had 28th for holiday. I could not even visit my village 🙂

    Sam

    October 3, 2009 at 9:39 pm


Leave a Reply

