Views

On life and its vagaries

Dreams

with 16 comments

Dreams do not mean anything, some say. They are somewhere in between fantasy and reality some others say.

In all cultures there are methods of interpreting dreams. I am not a dream analyst. But like everyone else I too have dreams. Well may be not always, or they do not encroach into my ordinary consciousness normally.

But some dreams have a hangover. Why I do not know. I do not have recurring dreams. Wicked dreams yes, gory dreams yes, good dreams and bad dreams yes, yes. But none seems to recur. But some seem to intrude into my waking consciousness.

The dream I am writing about may mean something or may not mean anything at all. The dream was about a place filled with banyan trees, a large field full of such trees. A liquid light was illuminating everything. There was soft grass on the ground between the trees. I was looking down on the field from a height. A woman was with me. We were not talking and we were sitting on a knoll.

We looked silently at the field for a long time and I do not know who got to the feet first, me or her or did we rise together?

We at last stood up and I was finding it difficult to leave the spot. I remember saying (perhaps with a sigh) β€œWhat a beautiful sight.” And she assented. We slowly departed.

The strange thing about the dream was that it has entrenched itself into my being. I still can remember it very vividly; crystal clear in fact, every tree, the spread of their leaves, the clean ground, the soft but all illuminating light.

Does it have a meaning or is it my own fantasy of a place I like the most, I cannot say.

But the picture is imprinted in my mind.

Written by Sam

September 13, 2009 at 10:43 am

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dreams can be any thing.. our subconscious warning us, our subconscious longing for something.. i love these studies so you can check in google.. there are sites which explain dreams and its a fun to read them, they sometimes sound true..

    mydomainpvt

    September 13, 2009 at 6:33 pm

  2. Nice. I am planning to do that. I have read something on the subject. But they can only guess at the real cause or nature of a dream. Yes the dreams are a very fascinating subject. Some even keep a dream diary. Some say we leave our body when we dream. The technique of Lucid Dreaming seems to have also become of fashion or passion of late.

    An interesting subject to explore.

    samronsilva

    September 13, 2009 at 9:10 pm

  3. i love to read all type of things with an open mind.. dreams, horoscopes.. every thing, they are really fun to read.

    and sometimes they are really true.. i will simply cite one concrete experience.. i used to often dream that i am flying.. i read the explanation of that dream and it fitted hands in gloves.. it said if you want to simply break free of something then you dream of flying.. and since the day i broke free i have sadly stopped dreaming of flying

    mydomainpvt

    September 15, 2009 at 6:11 am

  4. Dear Trisha,
    How sweet even your dreams are. Sadly I only have mundane earth bound dreams most of the time. Like every one else I used to have terrible nightmares of snakes chasing after me once. Rarely do I dream of something really significant like that I described in the above incident. If it wasn’t for the presence of the person with me in the dream, I could have worked out the dream myself, it was a pretty clear indication of my slant of mind. But why was there some one else in the dream? Inner quests are always taken alone. Was she my guide or a part of my mind, or the muse I love so intimately?

    You know I love some mystery in my life. I love the mystery of this presence in my life and is rather happy about it too. I am kind of apprehensive of breaking the dream into parts and inner workings and symbols and destroy this beautiful feeling I had at that time.

    Lovely of you to describe that beautiful dream.

    samronsilva

    September 15, 2009 at 8:57 am

  5. dear sam,

    no my dreams are not at all sweet.. i mostly have nightmares.. this one was one of the dreams i truly cherished.

    i think i read something about being chased by snakes in that site, you can check on it.. i wish i have saved the url, but you will be able to google it.

    i used to have nightmares about ghosts for years.. and really scary ones.

    i always love to analyse things.. and then dream keeping my feet on truth.

    mydomainpvt

    September 16, 2009 at 6:23 pm

  6. Being chased by snakes is only natural when we are growing up. It signifies the awakening of our natures and desires. Every youngster has them, I do not have them now πŸ™‚ It happened when I was very young. It is pretty simple actually.

    Ghosts in nightmares could be the resuilt of travelling in sleep ( Astrally as they say). πŸ™‚ I don’t know. I have often thought of taking up Lucid Dreaming. Could be novel if it could be done. They say that one could visit all the libraries in the world as also refer astral records on our future and past. I don’t think it is really possible, but one can not dismiss anything without trying it first.

    Trvelling without body ( as I make my charectors do sometimes) could be fun. We can travell at the speed of our mind πŸ™‚

    samronsilva

    September 16, 2009 at 7:00 pm

  7. tell me a little more, what will it mean if you dream night after night that count dracula is searching for you while you are hiding under the bed.. πŸ™‚

    trisha

    September 18, 2009 at 11:50 am

  8. That only means that you have read Bram Stokers Dracula and it made a deep impression on you πŸ™‚

    samronsilva

    September 18, 2009 at 1:52 pm

  9. πŸ™‚ and what about the other ghosts? which haunted my dreams for years.. πŸ™‚

    trisha

    September 19, 2009 at 5:46 pm

  10. They come from the stories of your childhood. You know there are such stories always around us and is a part of our emotional climate. Most of us are fascinated by such stories. I have stayed in a haunted house all alone . Never saw anything. It had a wodden stair case and there was some one coming calmly down the stairs at night.

    I switched on the light. It was a big fat rat slowly jumping from stair to stair πŸ™‚ It felt very like the steps of some one coming downstairs.

    Sam

    September 19, 2009 at 7:17 pm

  11. dear sam,
    well, in my case its not that easy.. i am too imaginitive and imagine all sort of ghosts which i have never seen in any movie or read in any story πŸ™‚

    trisha

    September 20, 2009 at 2:59 pm

  12. Well my mum used to teach us the names of Arjuna, to recite in such cases, when we were young πŸ™‚

    Could have been useful to combat them perhaps πŸ™‚

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 5:34 pm

  13. some one told me to keep a bhagwat geeta under my bed, another one told me to chant gayatri.. finally it went away by itself.. when i realized that ghosts are nothing in comparison to human beings πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    trisha

    September 22, 2009 at 11:53 am

  14. Much better than us are they?
    πŸ™‚

    Sam

    September 22, 2009 at 9:02 pm

  15. too much better πŸ™‚

    trisha

    October 3, 2009 at 5:41 pm

  16. Yeah I thought so πŸ™‚

    Sam

    October 3, 2009 at 9:40 pm


Leave a Reply

