Views

On life and its vagaries

A sun to seek

with 12 comments

Shut the door before you go and don’t let the light come in.

Her benefactor said fearfully.He was photo sensitive.

Nayana had just discovered something, it was a tiny sun. It glowed and smiled at her.

Do you like me? It whispered.

It had dimples and rosy cheeks, it smiled and smiled.

Don’t I? Nayana said delighted.

She hid it in her pocket. It merrily turned over in it and produced happy noises.

Nayana was small; she was out wandering in the woods. There was a brook with laughter and tears, there were the fallen leaves with their little sighs, there was the squirrel with its rhetoric, and there were scolding birds and angry butterflies.

It was the early morning. The grass shivered and kissed her bare feet with their silken dew.

You are early. They murmured.

He is still asleep. Nayana said to them, he doesn’t know I am here.

Let him sleep. They wished.

The thin wind was saying all sorts of silly things in her ears.

Yes, yes, she said, of course.

She ran and played with the wind, trees showered their happy tears on her.

Bless you my dear. They said shaking their heads in disapproval at her ecstasy. Nayana did not mind. These were her friends.

A snake was slithering by; it just raised its hood in token of recognition. Nayana stopped and wondered. What’s with her, she is slow today.

How are you? Nayana asked to its disappearing back.

It turned back and looked at her, sadly licking its dry lips.

As well as I can be, It said dispiritedly

You know, they have all gone wise.

It again said indicating everything with its hood.

You seem thin. Nayana said concerned.

Oh do I?

It rose and stood tall.

See, I can barely stand; I am going hungry these past months.

Nayana laughed.

Serves you well, you eat them up don’t you?

The snake hung its head in shame and moved out of sight.

I will get you a something perhaps.

Nayana called to it from behind.

Oh yes bring it, it sighed away, its something always.

Nayana had just crossed the silly brook and was looking into the eyes of wild flowers on the other side.

They were envious.

What’s that in your pocket? They asked eyeing her skirt.

Oh, this? Do you want to see it, it’s a great secret. Promise me you won’t tell my benefactor.

Why should we, your benefactor is no friend of ours.

She opened her pocket and the tiny sun shuddered and smiled.

He is ours

The flowers cried. Give him to us.

Shall I go to them? The tiny sun asked.

Do you want to? Nayana was sad.

No.

He said no. Nayana said running away.

But where will you hide him, the flowers called after her. Your benefactor will not have him. We have our hearts to hide him.

I have one too. Nayana called back.

I can hide him too.

I am afraid of your benefactor, the tiny sun said. He doesn’t like light.

Now they were out of the woods. The clouds dropped down and begged.

Nayana you can’t keep him, give him to us, we will look after him.

The blue skies pleaded

Let us have him. We can give him places to play in.

The mountains shouted,

We can hide him, trust him to us.

Nayana covered her ears and ran. She said to the little sun, wriggle inside my heart, you will be safe there.

It’s a tiny heart. The little sun said.

It’s bigger than you isn’t it?

The tiny sun looked into her heart and smiled.

Yes that’s true.

Get inside there. She said before opening the door of her house.

…………………………………………………

Throughout these years she had felt the warmth of her tiny sun glowing inside.

Then the man found out.

You are unbalanced, he said.

She said nothing, fearing to look inside.

Your daughter is insane. He told her parents. She lives in a fantasy world.

She is withdrawn, uncommunicative, he told the psychiatrist.

She neglects house hold duties, does not react in bed. He told the family court.

Now Nayana was free to walk in her woods again.

You can’t go there, her family tells her, you need a pass, it’s a sanctuary now.

She can, she thinks and she is walking the woods again; you too might meet her,

When you take her into the shades, don’t ask her about her sun, for she thinks she has found it in you.

Written by Sam

September 6, 2009 at 3:48 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this is fantastic, simply wonderful. i liked the tiny sun 🙂 would have loved having one for myself, and i am not photosensitive..

    mydomainpvt

    September 6, 2009 at 4:35 pm

  2. Thank you dear Trisha, I found him in Nayana’s heart and was guilty of stealing him from it. I couldn’t help myself! But now that he saw you, he is breaking bounds to get to you. I think I was too prosaic for him and he sensed the beauty of your heart immediately.

    So here is the tiny sun, dear owner! Don’t let him runaway.

    samronsilva

    September 6, 2009 at 7:07 pm

  3. thanks a lot, i will keep him in my soul.. hope that will be enough space for him 🙂 i will cherish this gift forever.

    mydomainpvt

    September 9, 2009 at 5:28 pm

  4. Can there be a more beautiful place for the little one to be 🙂

    samronsilva

    September 9, 2009 at 7:14 pm

  5. Thanks 🙂

    mydomainpvt

    September 15, 2009 at 6:32 am

  6. Welcome 🙂

    samronsilva

    September 15, 2009 at 11:13 am

  7. i really love the magical beauty of this story… you are a true magician. the way you described the sun is fabulous… any one will be tempted to have him 🙂

    mydomainpvt

    September 16, 2009 at 6:35 pm

  8. I can’t even tell how it came to me. I too think there is some magic involved somewhere. May be the muse was guiding my pen. May be I even wrote it for lovely souls like you.

    I am very glad that I wrote and you saw it.

    samronsilva

    September 16, 2009 at 7:22 pm

  9. and you gave him to me, he is glowing inside my heart and soul.. all day and night long, keeping me warm and happy.. i can even see his dimpled smile whenever i look inside my heart.. 🙂 he is so cute and jolly..

    trisha

    September 18, 2009 at 12:11 pm

  10. Well I am happy for you 🙂

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 6:19 pm

  11. thank you.. after all you gave him to me..:)

    trisha

    September 22, 2009 at 12:05 pm

  12. 🙂

    Sam

    September 22, 2009 at 9:17 pm


Leave a Reply

