Views

On life and its vagaries

Within words

with 14 comments

Family ties are sacred everywhere  in the world. The strange thing is, when these ties are broken once they usually stay broken.

Why? Well that is a difficult question to answer. There was this man I knew, a very nice man, a cool man, loved his family and was very friendly to one and all; no I do not think that was a pose in his case at all. He genuinely liked people and whenever he was away for some time was sure to bring presents for everyone he knew.

It was wonderful the way he remembered every one like that, for I could not, and most of us cannot. We may have several things running inside our brain to find the time to buy knick knacks for every one we know on a return journey. But he did it and was happy to do that. The man was busy mind you; it was not as if he had nothing else to do in his spare time….

His family likewise loved him and made much of him.

Well now comes the turn in the story. Recently I heard he broke up with the family and would not even return phone calls. His family says that he behaves as if they are his sworn enemies.

I do not know the details of the drama enacted behind the scenes, and honestly I do not care. Whatever happened has hurt him in a way that cannot be mended. This is the point of interest for me.

Though there are families in which people murder each other for whatever reasons, his was not like that. They all seemed to be a reasonable bunch of people. If there were fights, those had entirely to do with words.

Words can hurt; words used in certain contexts might contain deadly material which would haunt us day and night, giving us no peace.

Words can also kill.

They can maim and cripple us mentally. They can also please and pump us up. Normally we do not take the latter option, do we? The results are not immediately visible. We would take the first option every time if we can get away with it.

Such is the delight in the power of words.

Written by Sam

August 10, 2009 at 1:03 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ‘We would take the first option every time if we can get away with it.’

    Why? Would you really? I wouldn’t. Would you deliberately maim and cripple people without compunction, if you thought you could get away with it?? Or is that the thought provoking issue? T

    tessa moss

    August 10, 2009 at 3:15 pm

  2. I also wouldn’t. Its only relevant in the context of the incident.

    I was trying to divine a reason for this strange estrangement that occurred between a nice person and his family. I personally know both parties and they are nice to perfection. So what occurred between them? I believe words and their power to hurt are to be blamed for it. Carried away by some situation and its emotional fallouts, words might have been uttered that remained indelible in his mind. To the best of my knowledge it still remains so. They are not patched up even after years.

    Yes that’s the thought provoking issue in the article. This strange desire seen in some people to hurt others with words which can’t be ever taken back when in the grips of emotions. I wanted to bring that clearly across. I don’t know whether I succeeded in it or not!

    Nice of you to react so positively and strongly to the issue. It makes me hope that the message would have some importance after all.

    samronsilva

    August 10, 2009 at 4:15 pm

  3. Interesting observations from you. Your “land” sounds far off…as though it were from the pages of a book. That makes all the more intriguing.
    Nice work here.

    Glenna Meredith

    August 22, 2009 at 5:50 pm

  4. Thank you, that was a useful insight. Would try to do better ( heaven knows if I can!)

    samronsilva

    August 22, 2009 at 9:59 pm

  5. and sometimes its impossible to gauge how a family acts behind closed doors of family home

    mydomainpvt

    September 1, 2009 at 4:57 pm

  6. Very true, clicking on ‘broken relationships’ I came across tales of such woe from all over the world. Hints of hidden drama behind the scenes were aplenty in them. The sorry fact is that such wounds never truly heal.

    Wonderful of to come by and post insightful comments. Please come often.

    samronsilva

    September 1, 2009 at 6:26 pm

  7. when an innocent person is wounded by his/her family that wound never heals..

    mydomainpvt

    September 15, 2009 at 6:38 am

  8. Very true. Words are often lethal. We don’t really know where they would strike.

    sam

    September 15, 2009 at 3:34 pm

  9. you know my best friend often sends me a mail which has one quote which says..

    people may forget every thing about you but they will never forget how you made them feel..

    its really true. i have kept it in mind since i first read that quote.

    trisha

    September 18, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  10. Well I thought about something intelligent to say on this , but I can’t find any.
    So I will go with the quote.

    samronsilva

    September 18, 2009 at 4:16 pm

  11. i really love that quote, it has made me wiser than i was before.

    trisha

    September 20, 2009 at 3:15 pm

  12. Very nice one too 🙂

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 6:20 pm

  13. Funny that I got to read this today. I just had a bitter exchange of words with my mother. I ended up talking to her disrespectfully and shamelessly for that. The pain of the piecing words drove out all the love and respect in me. This post is right on!

    martha

    May 19, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    • Martha, I haven’t been looking in my pending comments section for a while now.
      I am sorry I couldn’t publish it right away. Thanks for the nice comment.

      Sam

      May 27, 2012 at 5:08 pm


Leave a Reply

