Views

On life and its vagaries

Rains of childhood

with 14 comments

The last few days have been killing. The heat and humidity have reached a crescendo that one could go faint at any time during the day or night. Yeah I know there are hotter countries on the surface of the globe than this. But none of them has the level of humidity that we have here. You sweat like crazy and have to swill liquids by the tubful, yet you feel thirsty all the time.

The heat always brings back memories of rain. I have written about it previously too. We have a soft corner for rain in our hearts. It touches us somewhere inside and brings up an indefinable longing in our hearts. It heightens the sense of touch and the feeling of nearness; to us it is a pleasing experience all together. Once you get out of the rain and back into your home you feel comforted within the safety of your walls and the muted noise of the rain coming through them has a strange and soothing tenor. It makes you drowsy and wanting to be near somebody you love…..

As a child I had wonderful luck to play with rain every day of the season, our schools open up just then.

Yes I have to call it luck, for the poor little guys of today do not have the same amount of freedom that we had then.

Once we were packed off to the school (always on foot), our good parents just forgot about us and we were free to do whatever we pleased, other than bunking classes. All the way to the school there would be small puddles on the road to play with. I used to be good at cracking at the water. For this trick you had to get rid of your footwear first and jump into the puddle leading with one foot. The result would be a splash just high enough to be cracked at with the other foot which would be following quite closely behind the first one. It would make a loud noise like from a slap stick. The louder the crack the happier we would become… We would normally reach school much worse for the exploits we have had on the way, mud spattered, wet and having lost several buttons on our shirts and knickers. Yes! There would be skirmishes on the way too.

It was heaven compared to what we have at present. Competition has become so fierce even among little children and their parents that the children have no spare time at all. There was an incident where the “grade” crazy mother actually  burned her little son with a hot pan because he was unable to spell “forty”. I may not have even known the English alphabet at his age (the little one was only four I hear) let alone spell forty or fourteen. But my parents never bothered. I was happy with what I had in my childhood.

I have to repeat, it was great during the rainy season when I was a child, you get new umbrellas, new dress, new carrying bags, new everything and you had the license to wreck them too, provided you are ready to bear a few slashes and a few black looks for them. For me wrecking them was the most enjoyable part, our parents were wise then, they knew that none of were going to become anybody anyway, so they left it at that.

These are comforting thoughts, while the summer is raging outside; I may have to wait till July to see my friend the rain again.

Alas I can never again catch those wonderful little fish with my Kerchief from the trough at the edge of the newly sown paddy fields, after sliding in to the field and completely covering my legs with soft sticky mud……No I did not murder them. I released them, after catching, but was always fond of seeing them jumping in the palm of my hands.

Oh those good rains of my childhood!

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very pictorial, I like it.
    T

    tessa moss

    August 10, 2009 at 6:45 pm

  2. Nice of you to think so. Thank you

    samronsilva

    August 10, 2009 at 8:09 pm

  3. Many beautiful things in life; rain has got to be at the top of the list…

    Great piece of writing! Loved it.

    🙂

    Nasreen Akhtar

    August 26, 2009 at 11:44 am

    • That was charming :). How can we not love the rain! Its part of our innate sensibilities, so deeply ingrained in us that it follows us everywhere.

      After reading your comment I looked out and saw the rain falling. The monsoons are not yet over here. Rain comes to us through all our senses doesn’t it? Sound, sight and touch, and yes, through smell and taste too, I can still smell the fragrance of the rain, and often when I am drenched in it I have felt its sweet taste on my tongue …..

      I welcome you with pleasure to my blog. Please come always.

      samronsilva

      August 26, 2009 at 6:46 pm

  4. my parents too were generous like this.. i had a lot of fun in my childhood too.

    mydomainpvt

    September 6, 2009 at 4:49 pm

  5. How true you are. Such a great loss for the little ones of today!

    samronsilva

    September 6, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  6. Well written – I have never been anywhere where there is a monsoon to be experienced, but I have always loved rain, especially swimming in it in the north sea where it smells of the essence of life, draws pictures and makes music on very special kinds of surface.

    Patricia

    September 10, 2009 at 9:52 am

  7. Thank you so very much for the nice complement. One has to have the heart of a poet to picture the rain so beautifully the way you did.

    This was written a little while back before the monsoons came but posted in August. Now we are in the last stages of the monsoons here . It has its drawbacks too, but I still would go for rain anytime..

    Patricia, you are very welcome to this blog 🙂

    samronsilva

    September 10, 2009 at 1:38 pm

  8. dear sam,
    well.. i sure dont envy today’s children or their childhood.. i had so much fun as a child.. 🙂
    climbing trees, playing, stuffing myself up with fruits from my garden.. soaking in rain, getting barbecued in UP summer .. oh!! 🙂

    mydomainpvt

    September 15, 2009 at 7:08 am

  9. Well dear Trisha,
    All we have are these nostalgic memories now. I feel sometimes very sad about it. Growing up is hard.. It robs us of life’s most wonderful things, our clear sight, our wonder and our freshness.

    Lovely of you to mention all those.

    sam

    September 15, 2009 at 3:42 pm

  10. i was very naughty as a child, even when i was quite grown up.. i have become a little grumpy since 2000 before that i was … 🙂 🙂

    trisha

    September 18, 2009 at 12:24 pm

  11. You meant me didn’t you 🙂

    samronsilva

    September 18, 2009 at 5:56 pm

  12. nope.. i was talking about myself.. i was not naughty in the sense most of the people mean.. i used to climb tree and do all sort of things girls/women dont do.. 🙂

    trisha

    September 20, 2009 at 3:23 pm

  13. Continue being naughty then 🙂 There is nothing in being very grave 🙂

    Sam

    September 20, 2009 at 6:26 pm


Leave a Reply

